Just another WordPress.com site

My Reaction: Monica’s ‘New Life’ – First Listen

Wow. I haven’t been this impressed by an R&B album in a long time! It’s been so frustrating having to settle for the cut-rate gimmicky ripoffs floating about everywhere. Monica has proved once again why she is the queen of R&B. You can tell she spent a long time crafting each song. I’ve found it difficult to single out my favorite tracks, as this record is so solid. Honestly almost every single song is absolutely amazing. The only exception for me is the collabo with Brandy, ‘It all Belongs to Me.’ I’m not feeling that track as much as the rest of the album. Still, that leaves 15 sensational songs to blow your mind! I think overall, New Life is better than her previous effort Still Standing- and I loved that record. I am very happy to be supporting such an amazing artist and cannot wait to receive my copy (which I will be posting). Definitely in the running for album of the year for sure!

Leave a Reply

